Scientific prizes

    Distinctions and prizes rewarding our researchers and students

    CEMEF's research work is regularly singled out for recognition. Each year, students and researchers receive awards from learned societies, congresses or civil society. There is no denying that we are proud of our laureates and the scientific prizes that reward them. Generally speaking, they confirm the vitality of our research activities. More specifically, they are a clear recognition of the quality of our research.

    That is why we are pleased to congratulate all our winners for their scientific awards.

    On this page, you will find a presentation of our latest awardees.

    Scientific laureates and awards 2019

    Lauréats du prix Pierre Laffitte 2019

    Two Laureates, PhD students

    The Pierre Laffitte Prize

    Emilie Forestier and Luiz Pereira, both 2nd-year doctoral students, were awarded the 2nd and 3rd Pierre Laffitte 2019 Prizes for their advances in their respective thesis work.

    J. Fausty lauréat du prix scientifique SF2M

    Julien Fausty, PhD student

    SF2M 2019 Award for Best Oral Communication

    Julien Fausty received the award for the best oral communication at the annual SF2M days, which took place from October 21 to 23, 2019.


    Mehdi Khalloufi, CEMEF 2014 - 2017 PhD student

    Paul Germain Thesis Award 2019 prize

    Mehdi received the AFM Paul Germain Prize at the 2019 edition of the French Mechanical Congress held in Brest at the end of August 2019.

    Elie Hachem lauréat du 1er prix Atos Joseph Fourier

    Elie HACHEM, Teacher-researcher

    1st Atos Joseph Fourier Award 2019, category Digital Simulation - High Performance Computing (HPC)

    This prize rewards his work on anisotropic parallel meshing combined with immersion methods for complex fluid mechanics simulations.

    M. Isard lauréate du Prix scientifique WoM 2019

    Manon ISARD, PhD student

    Prix "Ken Ludema Best Paper"
    22nd International Conference on Wear, Miami, USA, 14-18 avril 2019

    This prize is awarded for his article "Third-body formation by selective transfer in a NiCr / AgPd electrical contact. Consequences on wear and remediation by a barrel tumble finishing"

    Patrick Navard distingué par l'ACM

    Patrick NAVARD, Teacher-researcher

    Fellow 2019 de la Division "Cellulose & Renewable Materials" de l'American Chemical Society

    This distinction rewards all the work he has done in the creation and animation of the Polysaccharide Network of Excellence, EPNOE.

    Awards and prizes 2018

    Nathalie Bozzolo, lauréate prix scientifique SF2M 2018

    Nathalie BOZZOLO, Teacher-researcher

    Albert Portevin Medal 2018.
    SF2M French Society of Metallurgy and Materials

    She receives this distinction for her scientific contribution on the detailed fine analysis of microstructures to trace back to processes

    Scientific prizes and winners in 2017

    L. Druel lauréate du prix Innovation 2017

    Lucile DRUEL, PhD student

    Innovation Award of the Engineer of the Future Trophies
    This prize rewards his thesis work on bio-aerogels.

    Imagin'Maïs Innovation Prize
    It is his work during his internship at CEMEF on starch aerogels that was awarded this prize.

    M.A. Charpagne lauréate du prix scientifique Bodycote SF2M 2017

    Marie-Agathe CHARPAGNE, PhD student
    Bodycote 2017 SF2M awards

    She received this prize for her thesis on the rheological and microstructural behaviour of a new y/y' nickel base alloy during hot forging operations.

    Marc Bernacki Lauréat des trophées de la simulation numérique 2017

    Marc BERNACKI, Teacher-researcher

    Winner of the Numerical Simulation Trophies, Usine Digitale and Teratec, category collaboration (Transvalor)

    This trophy distinguishes the development of the DIGIMU software.

    C. Bahbah lauréate du prix meilleur poster CSMA 2017

    Chahrazade BAHBAH, PhD student

    Best Poster Award, Colloquium CSMA 2017, Giens, May 15-19, 2017

    Chahrazade was selected for his thesis work on adaptive finite elements for the simulation of interfacial phenomena with phase change.

    Mehdi Khalloufi lauréat du prix scientifique Tom Bell

    Mehdi KHALLOUFI, PhD student
    Tom Bell Award from IFHTSE, the International Federation for Heat Treatment and Surface Engineering

    His thesis work on the simulation of turbulent boiling during industrial quenching is distinguished as follows.

    Scientific prizes and winners in 2016

    Lionel Fourment récipiendaire du prix ISAM

    Lionel FOURMENT, Teacher-researcher

    ISAM Fellow

    Lionel Fourment was awarded by the distinction "ISAM Fellow", International Society of Agile Manufacturing, during the 12th International Conference on Numerical Methods in Industrial Forming Processes, NUMIFORM 2016. 

    M. Shakoor lauréat du prix scientifique de thèse CSMA 2016

    Modesar SHAKOOR, PhD student

    Thesis prize 2016 of the CSMA association

    This prize rewards his thesis work on the three-dimensional numerical modelling of ductile fracture mechanisms at the microscopic scale.